Winners of Inaugural Bush Prize for Community Innovation Announced

The in St. Paul has awarded its first annual to nine organizations in Minnesota, North Dakota, and South Dakota.

Three nonprofits in each state were selected based on their record of developing effective, equitable, or sustainable innovations through inclusive and collaborative processes focused on making the most of community assets. The winners are , the , and in Minnesota; the , , and in North Dakota; and , the , and in South Dakota.

Each organization will receive a grant equal to 25 percent of their program's current fiscal year budget, up to $500,000. In addition, grants of $10,000 will be awarded to twenty-one finalists, for a total of more than $3.5 million in grants awarded through the program. Earlier this month the foundation also awarded grants totaling nearly $4 million through its to thirty-four nonprofits working to create or implement an innovative solution to address a community need or opportunity.

"The collective record of accomplishment of the Bush Prize winners is a testament to what can be achieved by intentionally, thoughtfully, and continuously engaging the community in the problem-solving process. Each organization has established a culture of innovation that has led to positive impact in their community," said Bush Foundation president Jennifer Ford Reedy. "The Bush Prize not only provides the winners with resources to support their work, our hope is that it also inspires others to think differently about how to approach problem-solving in their community."

For more information on  individual , visit the Bush Foundation Web site.

"." Bush Foundation Press Release 12/19/2013.