Winners of 2016 Kavli Prizes Announced

Winners of 2016 Kavli Prizes Announced

The has announced the recipients of the 2016 in astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience.

Awarded in partnership with the California-based and the , the biannual prizes recognized the achievements of scientists from Germany, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States — three in each field — with $1 million in cash awards.

The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics was awarded to Ronald W.P. Drever and Kip S. Thorne of the and Rainer Weiss of the for their work in the direct detection of gravitational waves. The Kavli Prize in Nanoscience was awarded to Gerd Binnig, formerly of the ; Christoph Gerber of ; and Calvin Quate of , for the invention and realization of atomic force microscopy, a breakthrough in measurement technology and nanosculpting. And the Kavli Prize in Neuroscience was awarded to Eve Marder of ; Michael Merzenich of the ; and Carla Shatz of Stanford, for their discovery of mechanisms that allow experience and neural activity to remodel brain function.

Established in 2008, the Kavli Prizes are named after the late Fred Kavli, founder of the Kavli Foundation, which is dedicated to advancing science for the benefit of humanity, promoting public understanding of scientific research, and supporting scientists and their work.

"9 Scientific Pioneers to Receive 2016 Kavli Prizes." Kavli Prize Press Release 06/02/2016.