RWJF Announces Inaugural Future of Nursing Scholars

The has announced the first cohort of nurses awarded scholarships to pursue a doctorate degree in nursing through its program.

Launched last year with funding from RWJF and partner foundations, the Future of Nursing Scholars program aims to provide financial support, mentoring, and leadership development to up to a hundred Ph.D. candidates over the first two years of their Ph.D. program. The inaugural cohort of sixteen scholars at fourteen universities includes Brittney Sullivan and Rose Mary Xavier (), Sarah J. Allgood (), Desiree R. Bertrand (), Sarah Brown Blake (), Nhu Tran (), Alexis Chettiar (); Daniel Arthur Lincoln Hopgood (), Laren Riesche (), and Latia Michelle Wade Hickerson () — all of whom will be supported by RWJF.

In addition, Liz Novack () and Faith Ikarede Atte () will be funded by the ; Sainfer Aliyu () will be supported by the ; Millicent G. De Jesus () will be funded by ; and Pamela L. McCue () will be supported by the .

"We are proud to support such a diverse and committed group of nurses on their doctoral journeys," said Future of Nursing Scholars program co-director Julie Fairman. "It's important to note that we could not have launched this program without investments from several funders who are partnering with the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to support these exceptional nurse scholars. We intend to grow that group of partners, and next year we will support up to seventy-five Future of Nursing Scholars."

"Nursing Scholars Program Scholarships" Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Press Release 09/08/2014.