McKnight Endowment Fund for Neuroscience Names 2017 Scholars

The Minneapolis-based has announced the recipients of the 2017 .

Selected by the , the McKnight Scholar Awards are given to young scientists in the early stages of establishing a research career who have demonstrated a commitment to neuroscience. The award recipients, each of whom will receive $75,000 a year for three years, are Martha Bagnall of the ; Stephen Brohawn of the ; Mehrdad Jazayeri of the ; Katherine Nagel of the ; Matthew Pecot of ; and Michael Yartsev of UC Berkeley.

"Modern neuroscience uses a dizzying diversity of tools and model organisms to help understand fundamental principles of brain function," said Anthony Movshon, chair of the McKnight Scholar Awards committee and a professor at New York University. "This year's scholars work on an unusually broad range of levels, from the operation and development of fundamental brain circuits to the way that neuronal populations determine how we perceive, decide, remember, and act. Understanding the brain is the great quest of twenty-first century science, and these talented young scientists will be at the forefront of the field in this time of its great flowering."

"." McKnight Foundation Press Release 05/17/2017.