BWF Announces 2017 Career Awards for Medical Scientists

BWF Announces 2017 Career Awards for Medical Scientists

The North Carolina-based has announced the 2017 recipients of its .

Through the program, grants totaling $8.4 million were awarded to twelve physician-scientists, each of whom will receive $700,000 over five years. Now in its eleventh year, the program helps young physician-scientists transition into full-time careers as biomedical research scientists and tenured faculty members by providing financial support to recipients in their last couple of years in a mentored position and first few years in an independent position.

This year's recipients are Vijay Garud Bhoj and Kara Noelle Maxwell of the ; Lindsay Catherine Burrage of ; Aaron Foster Carlin of the ; Alejandro Chavez, Kent William Mouw, and Zuzana Tothova of ; Craig Brian Wilen of , Tamia Alisha Harris-Tryon of the ; Whitney Elizabeth Harrington and Anoop Patel of the ; and Tamer Sallam of the .

"The declining population of physician-scientists has been an area of focus for the Burroughs Wellcome Fund for the past decade," said Burroughs Wellcome Fund president John Burris. "The complexity of the physician-scientist career path has increased as biomedical science has evolved. Our funding provides dollars for research as well as for protecting time spent for conducting research."

"Top Physician-Scientists Receive $8.4 Mmillion Award Ffrom Burroughs Wellcome Fund." Burroughs Wellcome Fund Press Release 05/23/2017.