BWF Announces 2016 Career Awards for Medical Scientists

The North Carolina-based has announced the 2016 recipients of its .

Through the program, grants totaling $8.4 million were awarded to twelve physician-scientists, each of whom will receive $700,000 over five years. Now in its tenth year, the program helps young physician-scientists transition into full-time careers as biomedical research scientists and tenured faculty members by providing financial support to recipients in their last couple of years in a mentored position and first few years in an independent position.

Recipients of this year's awards include Jonathan Abraham, Mariella Gruber Filbin, Siddhartha Jaiswal, Seth Rakoff-Nahoum, and Alexander Spektor of ; Andrew Michael Intlekofer of ; Heidi Leigh Cook-Andersen of the ; and Devanand Sadanand Manoli, Alexander Marson, Dhakshin Ramanathan, Tiffany Crawford Scharschmidt, and Bruce Mao Zheng Wang of the .

"The 'physician-scientist' is a rare individual: medical doctors whose real-world practice treating human diseases gives them unique insights [with respect to] the biology of those very same diseases," said BWF president John E. Burris. "The Burroughs Wellcome Fund created this award to help increase the number of physician-scientists working today and to advance their career in scientific investigations — and all twelve of our 2016 awardees are pursuing biomedical research questions that can fundamentally improve human health."

"." Burroughs Wellcome Fund Press Release 06/03/2016.