Burroughs Wellcome Fund Announces 2008 Recipients of Career Awards for Medical Scientists

The in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina, has announced the 2008 recipients of its Career Awards for Medical Scientists.

BWF awarded prizes totaling $11.2 million to sixteen physician-scientists, each of whom will receive $700,000 over five years. Now in its second year, the program, a reformulation of the Career Awards in the Biomedical Sciences program, focuses on increasing the number of physician-scientists and keeping them in research by supporting recipients' last years in a mentored position and their early years in an independent position.

Recipients of this year's awards include Antonios O. Aliprantis, ; Kathleen H. Burns, ; Sandeep Robert Datta, ; Jeffrey Parker Henderson, ; and Agata Smogorzewska, .

"Physician-scientists are essential to translating the fruits of basic research into applications that have the potential to improve health," said BWF president Enriqueta C. Bond. "This program provides essential support during a critical transition period."

To view a complete list of this year's , visit the BWF Web site.

"." Burroughs Wellcome Fund 05/19/2008.