Barr Foundation Names 2017 Fellows

The Boston-based has announced its newest class of Barr Fellows.

The annual program recognizes exemplary leaders from diverse backgrounds, organizations, and fields in the greater Boston area and is focused on three goals: rewarding accomplished leaders by providing them with an opportunity for personal and professional rejuvenation; strengthening organizations by providing resources designed to further develop and enhance fellows' leadership; and building civic leadership in the region by fostering a strong network of leaders. Candidates for the fellowship are nominated confidentially.

Members of the sixth class of Barr Fellows will participate in a two-year program that includes a group learning journey, a three-month sabbatical, and facilitated retreats with members of their class. In addition, fellows' organizations will receive up to $100,000 to invest in leadership and organizational development.

The 2017 Barr Fellows are Beth Anderson, CEO and founder of the ; Clementina Chéry, co-founder, president, and CEO of the ; Rev. John Finley, co-founder and head of school at the ; Nigel Jacob, co-founder and co-chair of the ; Giles Li, executive director of the ; Darlene Lombos, executive director of ; Marty Martinez, president and CEO of the ; Ayele Shakur, regional executive director of ; Colby Swettberg, CEO of ; Yusufi Vali, executive director of the; Dania Vázquez, headmaster of the ; and David Waters, CEO of .

"It is our privilege to recognize and support this exceptional group of leaders," said Barr Foundation vice president Roger Nozaki. "Since the foundation inaugurated the Barr Fellowship in 2005, Barr Fellows have built a remarkable legacy of service and impact in Boston and beyond. We look forward to working with and investing in this newest class — and to seeing what emerges from their individual and collective leadership."

"." Barr Foundation Press Release 06/29/2017.