2018 Breakthrough Prize Recipients Announced

2018 Breakthrough Prize Recipients Announced

The has announced the recipients of the 2018 Breakthrough Prizes in Fundamental Physics, Life Sciences, and Mathematics.

The winners of the 2018 Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences, each of whom will receive a cash award of $3 million, are Joanne Chory ( and ), Don W. Cleveland ( at the ), Kazutoshi Mori (), Kim Nasmyth (), and Peter Walter ().

The 2018 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics, which includes a cash award of $3 million, was awarded jointly to Christopher Hacon () and James McKernan (University of California, San Diego). In addition, New Horizons in Mathematics Prizes, which include a cash award of $100,000 each, were awarded to Aaron Naber (), Maryna Viazovska (), Zhiwei Yun (), and Wei Zhang (and ).

The three winners of the 2018 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics, who will share a cash award of $3 million, are Charles L. Bennett (), Gary Hinshaw (), Norman Jarosik (), Lyman Page, Jr. (Princeton University), and David N. Spergel (Princeton University). And New Horizons in Physics Prizes that include a cash prize of $100,000 were awarded to Christopher Hirata (), Andrea Young (), and Douglas Stanford ( and ).

The foundation also announced the winners of its third annual Breakthrough Junior Challenge, a competition that invites young people between the ages of 13 and 18 to create short videos that communicate big ideas in the life sciences, physics, and math. Hillary Diane Andales, 18, of the Philippines will receive $250,000 in educational prizes; her science teacher will receive $50,000; and her school will receive a new science laboratory valued at $100,000 designed by and in partnership with .

Founded by Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki, Jack Ma and Cathy Zhang, Yuri and Julia Milner, and Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan, the Breakthrough Prizes are funded by Mark Zuckerberg's fund at the and the , , and foundations.

"The Breakthrough Prize was created to celebrate the achievements of scientists, physicists, and mathematicians, whose genius help us understand our world, and whose advances shape our future," said Zuckerberg. "The world needs their inspiration, and their reminder that even though it doesn’t always feel that way, we are making steady progress toward building a better future for everyone. Priscilla and I want to congratulate all of tonight’s laureates and give our deepest thanks for all that they do.

"." Breakthrough Prize Foundation Press Release 12/04/2017.