2017 Breakthrough Prize Recipients Announced

2017 Breakthrough Prize Recipients Announced

The has announced the recipients of the 2017 Breakthrough Prizes in Fundamental Physics, Life Sciences, and Mathematics.

The winners of the 2017 Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences, each of whom will receive a cash award of $3 million, are Stephen J. Elledge (); Harry F. Noller (); Roeland Nusse (); Yoshinori Ohsumi (); and Huda Yahya Zoghbi (). The 2017 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics, which includes a cash award of $3 million, was awarded to Jean Bourgain (). In addition, New Horizons in Mathematics Prizes, which include a cash award of $100,000, were awarded to Mohammed Abouzaid (); Hugo Deuminil-Copin ( and ); Benjamin Elias (; and Geordie Williamson ( and ).

The three winners of the 2017 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics, who will share a cash award of $3 million, are Joseph Polchinski (); Andrew Strominger (); and Cumrun Vafa (Harvard University). In addition, New Horizons in Physics Prizes that include a cash prize of $100,000 were awarded to Asimina Arvanitaki (), Peter W. Graham (Stanford) and Surjeet Rajendran (); Simone Giombi () and Xi Yin (Harvard); and Frans Pretorius (Princeton).

The foundation also announced the winners of its second annual Breakthrough Junior Challenge, a competition that invites young people between the ages of 13 and 18 to create short videos that communicate big ideas in the life sciences, physics, and math. Antonella Masini, 18, from Peru and Deanna See, 17, from Singapore will each receive up to $400,000 in educational prizes, including a scholarship worth up to $250,000, $50,000 for an inspirational teacher of their choice, and a state-of-the-art science lab valued at $100,000.

Founded by Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki, Jack Ma and Cathy Zhang, Yuri and Julia Milner, and , the Breakthrough Prizes are funded by Mark Zuckerberg's fund at the and the , , and foundations.

"There has never been a more important time to support science," said Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg. "The 2017 Breakthrough Prize laureates represent the leaders in scientific research in physics, math, and life sciences. Their breakthroughs will unlock new possibilities and help make the world a better place for everyone."

"." Breakthrough Prize Foundation Press Release 12/02/2016.