2016 McKnight Fellows in Visual and Performing Arts Announced

The Minneapolis-based  has announced the recipients of the 2016 for visual arts, composition, theater, and choreography and dance.

Designed to recognize outstanding mid-career Minnesota artists, the fellowships include a $25,000 stipend to enable fellows to spend time on study, reflection, experimentation, and exploration; take advantage of an opportunity; and/or work on a new project. Administered by the , the McKnight Fellowships for Visual Artists were awarded to painter Erik Benson; Julie Buffalohead, whose paintings, drawings, and prints focus on the Native American experience; Leah Edelman-Brier, who uses photography to disrupt ideals of feminine beauty; artist, black feminist scholar, and educator Tia-Simone Gardner; Monica Haller, whose work explores environmental and human systems; multimedia artist Jay Heikes; photographer Pao Houa Her; and abstract painter Caroline Kent.

The recipients of the McKnight Composition Fellowships, which are administered by the , are harpsichordist Asako Hirabayashi; Belorussian-American composer Sergey Khvoshchinsky; David Means, director of the Echofluxx Ensemble in Prague and an associate professor of music and intermedia art at Metropolitan State University in St. Paul; and Javanese gamelan performer Joko Sutrisno.

Administered by the , the 2016-17 McKnight Theater Artist Fellowships were awarded to costume designer Sonya Berlovitz of Theatre de la Jeune Lune, the Moving Company, Ten Thousand Things, and Jungle Theater; actor Thomasina Petrus, a company member at Penumbra Theatre and Mixed Blood Theatre; and actor Kimberly Richardson, a core member at Ten Thousand Things.

And the McKnight Fellowships for Choreographers and Dancers, which are administered by the , were awarded to choreographers Megan Mayer, who works with experimental video and photography as well as choreography and dance; Rosy Simas, whose work addresses political, social, and cultural subjects from a Native feminist perspective; Aniccha Arts founder and artistic director Pramila Vasudevan; Hip Hop dancer, choreographer, and instructor Lisa Berman; Christopher Hannon of the James Sewell Ballet; and Chitra Vairavan, a founding member of Ananya Dance Theatre.

"." Cowles Center For Dance & The Performing Arts Press Release 06/06/2016. "2016 McKnight Composer Fellows and Visiting Composers Announced." American Composers Forum 06/02/2016. "." Minneapolis College of Art and Design Press Release 06/02/2016. "." Playwrights' Center Press Release 06/01/2016.